Forming of mangaldai bar association 1916

Forming of Association

Year: 1916


Lawyers like  Rai Sahib Suklal Ghosh, Tapeswar  Sarma, Purnanda Rajkhowa, Hiralal Bose, Kumud Ram Bora and Ratneswar Dasgupta started practicing at  Mangaldai from the year 1916 forming an association without adopting a constitution.

Adoption of the Written Constitution

Year: 1925


It was 29th April 1916 when a small group of lawyers formed an association and baptized it as Mangaldai Bar Association and the written constitution of the bar had been adopted on 12th November 1925. The lawyers who formed the Mangaldai Bar Association were Raisahib Suklal Ghosh (Pleader), Puranananda Rajkhowa B.L , Tapeswar Sarma , B.L, Hiralal Bose, (Vakil) Ratneswar Dasgupta.

baptising thename mangaldai bar association

Fighting For A Cause

Year: 1950


After independence member of the Mangaldai Bar Association have been fighting for the cause of the people. In the year 1950 two of its member namely Sandhi Saharia and Mukti Nath Goswami organised Satyagrah movement for the landless people of Ranthali Tea Estate , Kalaigaon.

War Time Service

Year: 1962


In 1962 during the period of Chinese aggression the member of this Bar Association formed a committee under the name and style Mangaldai Evacuee Relief Committee and rendered yeoman service to the distressed people of erstwhile NEFA (now Arunachal Pradesh). It also contributed generously to the National Defence Fund.

First President of Association

Year: 1970


The first Secretary of the Association was Raishahib Suklal Ghosh, however, the record revealed that the post of President was created only in the year of 1970 and Sri Suklal Ghosh was elected as first President of Mangaldai Bar Association.

Rising Against Atrocities

Year: 1991


Mangaldai Bar Association took up the cudgel and spearheaded the movement against the atrocities of paramilitary force which prompted the government to compensate and rehabilitate the family of the victim.