On the 29th day of April, 1916 a group of lawyer formed an association and named it as Mangaldai Bar Association. The respected lawyers who formed the Mangaldai  Bar Association  were:


  • Raisahib  Suklal Ghosh
  • Puranananda Rajkhowa  
  • Tapeswar Sarma
  • Hiralal Bose
  • Kumud Ram Bora  
  • Ratneswar  Dasgupta


The written constitution of the Mangaldai Bar Association was adopted on the 12th day of November, 1925. The present strength of our association is 466 in the year 2017.

Now we have a two storied RCC building with five large halls and a canteen for the members to repose. We also have a well equipped air conditioned library having several numbers of computer sets with internet facility for our members.  We allow the law students/researchers to use our materials for the purpose of study and research.  

Many of our members qualified for Assam Judicial Services among them Rtd. Late Justice Siba Prashad Rajkhowa had been elevated to the bench of Calcutta High Court and Hon’ble Mr. Justice Mir Alfaj Ali to the bench of Gauhati High Court.


Our members Qualified for Assam Judicial Services:

  • Siba Prashad Rajkhowa
  • Gobinda Ram Baruah
  • Abbasuddin Ahmed
  • Upen Saikia
  • Abdul Rahim
  • Hali Ram Basumatary
  • Mahiuddin Jiaul Hoque
  • Mir Alfaj Ali
  • Hanif Ali
  • Sarada Saikia
  • Aruna Devi
  • Pranita Raj Medhi
  • Saya Rani Devi
  • Jogeswar Bora
  • Satya Nath Sarmah
  • Nityananda Talukdar
  • Sabita Bhardwaj
  • Aklima Begum


Madhab Chandra Rajbongshi

2016 – Present


Sailendra Kumar Sarma Barua

2016 – Present